Beaver Scouts, often shortened to Beavers is the second youngest official section of Scouting. The core age range for Beaver Scouting is six to eight years.

This section is run throughout the Districts in West Mercia Scout County in Scout Groups and have a collective name of a Colony. When a Beaver becomes the age of eight a Beaver Scout will move onto the Cub Scouts. The Beaver Section was officially launched in 1986.

Beavers are easily recognised by their distinctive turquoise sweatshirts, and the section is run by volunteer Leaders who are fully trained and are often called by names after character from nature or some are called by their real names. Within the Colony they have little groups call Lodges and usually meet for around one hour.

What do Beaver Scouts do?

They are taught “SkillsForLife” trying and doing new things, such as:

  • Air Activities
  • International
  • Cooking
  • Experiments
  • Exploring Nature
  • Community Impact
  • Camping, Tent Pitching, cooking on a fire or BQ
  • Tying Knots
  • Having Fun
  • Making new friends
  • Plus many more

If you would love to join Beavers in West Mercia County

We offer a group finding facility on the West Mercia Scouts website. All you need to do is enter your postcode and it will show you a list of groups in order of distance from the postcode you have entered. This will allow you to see where the most local groups are to your area. You can access the group finder click here.

Put your phone down and what are you left with? Just teamwork, courage and the skills to succeed.’
Bear Grylls, Chief Scout Bear Grylls